The Museum of Applied Arts in Budapest was founded in 1872 by the Hungarian Parliament. Its founding director general was György Ráth (1828-1905) followed by Jenő Radisics (1856–1917), both esteemed Hungarian art collectors. The museum has one of the world's largest collections of applied arts, Hungarian and international, historical and contemporary. It houses a rich permanent collection, including Art Nouveau pieces, ceramics, furniture, glass, goldware and design pieces, and also hosts temporary exhibitions.
Today the museum has a strong focus on contemporary Hungarian pieces. Currently closed due to renovation work, the collection can be browsed online and educational programmes have been relocated to the György Ráth Villa, which showcases a selection of the museum’s Art Nouveau collection. The György Ráth Villa was bought by the art collector in 1901 and furnished with his rich art collection. Upon his death, the villa was gifted to the Museum of Applied Arts in 1906 and the National Ráth György Museum was established in the villa from Ráth's collection.